Mayor’s Short Story Writing Awards

Mornington Peninsula Shire and the Peninsula Writers’ Club invite local writers to apply for the Mayor’s Short Story Writing Awards!

The Awards aim to encourage and support Mornington Peninsula writers of all abilities, celebrate our diverse talent and showcase local stories and voices.

Applications close Sunday 1 August 2021 at 5pm.

Applications will be judged by authors Gary Disher, Paul Kennedy and Danielle Binks alongside Mornington Peninsula Shire Mayor Despi O’Connor.

Winners will be announced in September 2021.

Award categories and prizes:

8 – 12 years
500-word limit / short creative fiction only
$500 prize and bookstore vouchers
12 – 17 years
1000-word limit / short creative fiction
$500 prize and bookstore vouchers
18+ years
2,000-word limit / short creative fiction only
$1,000 prize and two-week Police Point Artist Residency

The Peninsula Writers’ Club (PWC) is the only not-for-profit incorporated writing organisation on the Mornington Peninsula, representing and supporting emerging, aspiring, and established writers of all abilities and writing genres. For more project collaborations between Peninsula Writers Club and Mornington Peninsula Shire – Arts and Culture, head to our article on  Footpath Fiction.

Story submissions
You can submit your story online.

Submissions open 14 April 2021
Submissions close 1 August 2021

Mayors Short Story Writing Award
Enter Here